POTTER MANIA!

I wrote this down after watching  Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 on DVD:

 

12 years ago on my birthday, I first met the boy wizard.  The Potter craze took a while to heat up around here, and the first three books were already out. I had heard they were good, but nobody told me they were amazing! I was blown away by her attention to detail and it wasn’t just the characters that were fully fleshed out, but an entire wizarding world.  Such wonder such magic, I bulldozed through those books, and couldn’t put any of them down until reading the last word.  And each subsequent release of a book or a movie was greeted by me with such glee that nothing before or since has been able to ignite in me.  I remember a friend of mine being jealous and wishing that she could have had one of JK Rowling’s many ideas herself.  I have so many memories, all the tears and laughter, all the magic, all the wonder, and the characters who I very well feel like I grew up with.  Now that all the books and all the movies are now done, what’s the next thing that can even rival Potter?  Maybe I’ll write it, maybe you will, who knows?  Regardless of who writes it, know that I will be there to compare!  I just have a hard time imagining a child growing up knowing the complete story, not knowing the crazy anticipation that we all had for each new installment.  Jo Rowling has carved a great place in our hearts, in our minds, on our shelves, and even on our televisions.  I know she has said she will not write another book about Harry, but whatever she puts out, I know I need to read it.

-Craig

Leave a comment